Frederiksberg is a town in the Danish capital region, the fifth largest town in Denmark after Copenhagen, Arhus, Odense and Olborg, as of mid-2013 the population of Frederiksberg was 102 029. The history of Frederiksberg started 2 June 1651, when the king of Denmark and Norway Frederik III granted the title to a few dozens of Danish – Dutch families to settle in the area called New Amager (Dan. Ny Amager) or New Hollænderby (Dan. Ny Hollænderby). However, agriculture was not very successful in New Amager, and in 1697 the biggest part of the town was destroyed by the fire. Consequently, dwellers could not pay taxes, and the land returned to the royal property.
Video about Frederiksberg district:
The area of Frederiksberg was given its name after the palace of the same name, which was built upon the order of king Frederik at the beginning of the 18th century. The castle was erected on the highest place in Frederiksberg, the Sunny hill. It was immediately renamed to Frederiksborg, i.e. «hill of king Frederik», and started the construction of the palace, which was also named after the name of the hill. The king liked staying here very much, and to honour him a monument by Herman Wilhelm Bissen was installed in the palace park. The sign on the base of the monument reads "Here he felt happy in the midst of loyal people".
By the way, in the palace nearly everything has been preserved untouched from the times of Frederik VI. In order to preserve its authentic looks, virtually no innovations have been introduced. Even the officers of the Military academy housed here are not entitled to change anything or improve anything to their taste or to their comfort. Therefore, in particular, there are no air-conditioners in the palace. When it is so hot in summer that it is unbearable to stay in classrooms, teachers order to open old enormous windows. And here future officers can see a piquant view of the dozens of half-naked ladies, scattered on the green grass in front of the palace, lying in the sun topless, following the old Danish tradition.
The Chinese pavilion, the old royal chapel and the Royal banquet room are also worth attention in the palace. In some cases it can be rented for special occasions. The palace is surrounded by a large park. To the west of the palace there is a zoo, one of the biggest ones in Europe. The Zoo façade looks at the old City hall where the mayor and his office work.
Frederiksberg was once a town itself, but after the merger with Copenhagen in 1901, this area with its spacious streets became one of the central districts of the Danish capital. However, it is still formally considered a town and has its own city hall and municipal authorities. With its gardens and parks Frederiksberg is thought to be the most fashionable and expensive district of the Danish capital. The most luxurious villas and mansions are situated here. Not far from Frederiksborg there is Grundtvig’s church (Dan. Grundtvigs Kirke), looking like a stone sculpture of an organ. This extraordinary shape was given to it by architects Peder Vilhelm Jensen-Klint. It was named after Grundtvig, the prominent Danish enlightener and church reformer and founder of night schools for adults.
Today Frederiksberg mainly consists of residential buildings (three- to five-storey), detached houses, mansions and large parks. This is also the place of the Royal Copenhagen porcelain factory, operating from the end of the 19th century, 9 schools, Copenhagen Business School (CBS), museums, 5 theatres and a dozen of different churches.
Other photos of Frederiksberg district: